The University Honors Program faculty is comprised both of faculty hired to be dedicated primarily to the program (our core faculty) and faculty drawn from the wider George Washtington community. This latter group includes the University Professors, an elite cadre of scholars considered to be leaders of their respective disciplines, and the Honors Faculty Fellows, faculty chosen each year to offer special Honors seminars based on their sabbatical projects. Honors program students have the best of both worlds – faculty to study with and seek mentorship from from the freshman year on as well as an ever-changing menu of course opportunities provided by excellent scholars and teachers representing a wide range of disciplines from around the university. 

To see who is teaching for the Honors program this semester, please see the Honors section of the schedule of classes

University Honors Program Core Faculty

Affiliated Faculty

  • Elisabeth Anker, Associate Professor of American Studies and Political Science
  • Michael Bradley, Professor of Economics and International Affairs
  • Thea Brown, Professorial Lecturer in Honors
  • Ingrid Creppell, Associate Professor of Political Science and International Affairs
  • Ron Dworkin, Professorial Lecturer in Honors
  • Harvey Feigenbaum, Professor of Political Science
  • Maria Frawley, Professor of English and Director, University Honors Program
  • Craig French, Professorial Lecturer in Honors
  • Jennifer Green-Lewis, Associate Professor of English
  • Carly Jordan, Associate Professor of Biological Sciences in Women's Leadership Program
  • Alexa Joubin, Professor of English, Co-director of the Digital Humanities Institute, Director of the Dean's Scholars in Shakespeare
  • Steven Livingston, Professor of Media and Public Affairs and International Affairs
  • Jelena Patrnogic, Professorial Lecturer in Honors
  • Rachel Pollack, Professorial Lecturer in Honors
  • Walter Reich, Yitzhak Rabin Memorial Professor of International Affairs, Ethics & Human Behavior, & Psychological & Behavioral Science
  • Summer Renault-Steele, Professorial Lecturer in Honors and Philosophy
  • Donna Scarboro, Associate Provost for International Programs
  • Jenna Weissman Joselit, Charles E. Smith Professor of Judaic Studies and Professor of History

University Professors

  • Michael Barnett, University Professor of International Affairs and Political Science
  • Amitai Etzioni, University Professor of Sociology
  • Martha Finnemore, University Professor of Political Science and International Affairs
  • Steven Knapp, University Professor of English
  • Vanessa Northington Gamble, University Professor of Medical Humanities and Professor of Health Policy & of American Studies
  • Seyyed Nasr, University Professor of Islamic Studies
  • Stephen Saltzburg, Wallace and Beverley Woodbury University Professor of Law; Director of the Litigation and Dispute Resolution Program
  • Stephen Joel Trachtenberg, University Professor of Public Service; President Emeritus of the University
  • Bernard Wood, University Professor of Human Origins and Professor of Human Evolutionary Anatomy

Faculty Fellows 2019-2020

Note: if you are here trying to find information on how to apply to become a Faculty Fellow, unfortunately the program has been discontinued.